Hugo Alvar Henrik Aalto (born: 3 February 1898, Kuortane, died: 11 May 1976, Helsinki) was a Finnish architect and designer, known as the ‘Father of Modernism’ in Nordic countries. His work included architecture, furniture, textiles and glassware. Aalto’s early career runs parallel to the rapid economic growth and industrialisation of Finland during the first half of the twentieth century.

Frank Lloyd Wright (born: Frank Lincoln Wright, 8 June 1867 died: 9 April 1959) was an American architect, interior designer, writer and educator.

Ieoh Ming Pei (b. 1917) left China when he was eighteen to study architecture at MIT and Harvard. Between 1942 and 1945, he worked as a concrete designer for Stone and Webster, and in 1946 he began work in the office of Hugh Asher Stubbins, in Boston. Pei worked as an instructor and then as an assistant professor at Harvard before he joined Webb & Knapp Inc. in New York in 1948. Pei worked as the head of the architectural division of Webb and Knapp, Inc. until 1960, when he resigned and founded his own architectural office, I. M.

Jørn Utzon (1918 – 2008) was a Danish architect most notable for designing the Sydney Opera House in Australia. When the Sydney Opera House was declared a World Heritage Site on 28 June 2007, he became only the second person to have his work recognised as a World Heritage Site while he was still alive. Utzon has created a style marked by monumental civic buildings and unobtrusive housing projects. He incorporates the balanced discipline of Asplund, the sculptural quality of Alvar Aalto, and the organic structures of Frank Lloyd Wright into his designs.

Charles-Édouard Jeanneret-Gris, who chose to be known as Le Corbusier (October 6, 1887 – August 27, 1965), was a Swiss-French architect, designer, urban writer and painter, famous for being one of the pioneers of Modern Architecture or the International Style. He was born in Switzerland, but became a French citizen in his 30s. He was a pioneer in studies of modern high design and was dedicated to providing better living conditions for the residents of crowded cities.

Louis Isadore Kahn, born on February 20, 1901 was a world-renowned architect of Estonian Jewish origin, based in Philadelphia, United States.

The primal power of Tadao Ando derives from his sublime use of one material - CONCRETE. Broad, flat, pale, subdued, and gray form of concrete may not sound like a formula for pleasure. But think about Tadao Ando’s architecture and images of sleek, smooth concrete are sure to fill the mind's eye. Ando represents the serene, economical, side of elegance using concrete. There is little doubt that anyone in the world of architecture will not be aware of his work.

Luis Bar­ra­gán Morfin is con­side­red the most im­portant Mexican architect of the 20th cen­tury.

Mario Botta was born in Mendrisio on 1 April 1943, and lives in Ticino, a small canton in southern Switzerland. He describes himself as an external student who did not attend classes but prepared his lessons alone, then sat for the final examinations at the school. After graduation, Mario Botta journeyed to Venice to enrol at the ‘most sophisticated and least technical of the Italian architectural schools,’ the Instituto Universitario di Architettura (IUA).

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, born Maria Ludwig Michael Mies (March 27, 1886 – August 17, 1969) was a German-American architect and commonly referred to and addressed by his surname, Mies, by his colleagues, students, writers and others.